Penny Kitty

I loved the 1st day video that Brittney shared with us in class yesterday. We discussed how wonderful (and how TALL) Penny Kittle is. (I really want to call her Penny Kitty). 

Yet, there was one thing that bothered me about this video. She would always fill the silence by asking more and more questions. She would ask a question, and when someone hadn’t spoken within 5 seconds, she asked another question, and on and on. This really bothered me because she gave hardly any time for students to gather their thoughts and come to their own conclusions before bombarding them with another question! 

At the tutoring center, we practice the technique of a “30 second wait time”. And I will be honest, yes, it is awkward and long, but you know what? I see the gears turning. I see my tutees trying to come up with something because they know I will wait until they answer.

Image

One of my favorite authors is Mitch Albom. This is a quote from his book “Tuesdays with Morrie”:  “Why are we embarrassed by silence? What comfort do we find in all the noise?”

Sometimes silence just means the brains are working; give them some time, let them relax and roll the idea/question/statement over in their minds! 

That’s literally the only problem I had with that video hahaha. Turns out she rocks my face.

2 thoughts on “Penny Kitty

  1. I agree that it is important to wait and give students time to think. As a student, I hated when teachers asked a question and then asked another. I felt like I didn’t have any time to form an answer, so I never took their questions seriously.

Leave a Reply

