Learning doesn’t suck

I love that I’m constantly learning. Too often people think that learning only takes place in a controlled environment: the classroom. I just recently submitted my personal record for my credential file, and I had to attach my philosophy of education again. I used to HATE my philosophy; it was so scripted and written for the purpose of being read by an education professor. But now I love it.
 
I talk about continual growth and the possibilities of learning outside of the classroom. Learning and education are not synonyms. It bothers me how people associate learning ONLY with education/educators. There is learning to be done anywhere at anytime by anyone. It is not limited to a school’s chemistry lab or a history class textbook. Learning is much bigger than that. Each person every day has experiences. Whether it be inside or outside of a school building, we are still learning. We grow from our mistakes and our successes. 

Leave a Reply

