Effing up miserably

Ahhh this week’s readings had so much good stuff. While I was reading, I was highlighting and typing down quotes from the articles so I wouldn’t forget them. It took me a whole afternoon to get through all the readings and videos because I kept stopping to write down quotes and journal in my writer’s notebook.

Image

Failure was a big topic in class; I’m scared to fail…for lots of reasons, but mainly because I don’t want to let my students down or get fired. I know I will fail, and I’m ready for that. Mariah said that if she fails in class, she’ll be able to pick herself back up, throw that idea out, and say “Ok, that didn’t work. How else can this be done? Ideas? Let’s try again!” I pray to God I have that mindset when I teach haha. During the TED talk where the 13 year old boy is talking, he showed a clip of a Sir Ken Robinson quote: “If you’re not prepared to be wrong, you’ll never come up with anything original.” Mariah and Sir Ken Robinson have made me rethink failure. It’s ok to eff up miserably. It’s ok to tell your kids that you were wrong. And by accepting that, new ideas will spark and creativity will flow from you and your students in a way that you didn’t think was possible.

Image

The first day of class we made a list of all the things we have to do. All those things we have to do are all opportunities to fail, learn from our mistakes, and try again. A quote from the Angela Maiers article made me realize why Dr. Ellington started our class that way: “It’s only when we expose our darkest fears and our greatest mistakes that true growth occurs.” I never thought I would say this, but I hope I fail. I’ve come to terms with it, and I’m ready to grow and become a better master learner, reader, and writer.

2 thoughts on “Effing up miserably

Leave a Reply

